Top 10 Reasons I am a Runner

23 Dec

There are so many reasons I love to run, but in reflecting on some of my recent fitness challenges, I confirmed why I truly love to run and fondly embrace my identity as a runner.

1) No matter how long or how far you’ve run , you can call yourself a runner.  It feels good to be able to identify myself as something.  It’s as easy as saying. “I am a runner because I love to run”.  That seems to be enough for people.   

2) Running, particularly at races, exudes positive energy.  Runners and non-runners are almost always welcome.  In all the races I’ve attended, I always feel a sense of community, spirit, and pride.  Poeople tend to support each other.  They often cheer for others, and while runing is an individual support, there are often opportunitites to join teams. 

3) Running is frequently associated with a greater good.  Many races aim to raise money for meaningful organizations.  Sponsoring athletes to run both gives the althlete a reason to train as well as supports a worthy cause.

4) Running promotes a healthy lifestyle.  Eating a balanced diet is one of the best way to develop your running abilities.  In addition, running regularly makes me crave healthy food; thus, I reach for treats much less often. 

5) Running is a great way to see new places.  The first thing I enjoy doing when I travel is strap on my running shoes and tour the local area on foot. 

6) Running is a long term sport.  Running is a long term activitiy where your ability develops over time.  The 30-40 age bracket in any race is often one of the most competitive.   

7) Almost anywhere you go you can run.  There is very little equipment required and the cost is minimal.  Although you can acquire a lot of fancy gadgets over time, all you really need to run is a decent pair of shoes. 

8) Even if you don’t start running at a young age, you still have the opportunity to become good at it.

9) Running is a sport you can do as a family.

10) Running is a natural high.  There is nothing better than reaching the point where you can run and forget you are even doing anything, get lost in your own thoughts.  Much like mediation, running has a calming effect.

There’s no time like the present to start running.  Although it might seem challenging at first, if you stick with it you will quickly devlop your skills.  Below are some of my favorite running websites.

http://www.runnersworld.com/ (All sorts of valuable info)

www.active.com/running (Races, tips, and events)

http://www.goyorunning.blogspot.com/ (My friend’s awesome running blog)

http://www.kidsrunning.com/index.html (Ways to help kid’s develop their running skills)

http://www.girlsontherun.org/ (My favorite non-profit running organization, helping young girls build confidence through running)

http://www.racesirens.com/ (Empowers men and women through racing and race funding)

http://5mls2mt.blogspot.com/ (One girl’s journey as a runner, an interesting read)

http://www.runblogger.com/ (All sorts of good reviews, blog and podcast)

3 Responses to “Top 10 Reasons I am a Runner”

  1. BTC December 23, 2011 at 3:18 pm #

    You don’t even need shoes Kim! Barefoot running is awesome!

  2. Eliot W. Collins December 29, 2011 at 3:00 pm #

    If those “Girls on the Run” can stick with it for 50 more years then they may end up like me – http://rci.rutgers.edu/~mocker/running/photos/girls_on_the_run_2008.jpg

  3. Gretchen Goodell December 29, 2011 at 6:42 pm #

    This is good for us “reluctant runners” to read….:) Motivating!

Leave a Reply

