A Life Unlived

6 Jul

Every individual’s mid-life crisis is unique, and some might say they never experience it.  It seems that for nearly all though there is at least one moment that calls into question everything you know.  For me, that pivotal moment came unexpectedly as I lay in bed one night.  Reflecting on where I’ve been and who I’ve become, the visions flashed before my eyes of time ticking away.  You don’t know how long you’re here for; who are you and what do you truly want?  To seize that moment meant risk, which meant fear.  Fear is not something I’m fond of, but the five years prior had given me plenty of practice.  Life presents circumstances that touch the inner-most parts of your soul, they call into question everything you believe.  It’s in those moments that who you are is truly defined.

Who am I and who do I want to be?  What do I stand for and what do I believe?  I’d grown complacent over the years, and it wasn’t a bad place to be, but something inside of me looking back said there has to more to this.  It was then that I made the decision to jump.  I would not look back on an unlived life.  My childhood memories flashed before my eyes, the dream of being everything.  Along the way the roles disappeared and the hope that I might achieve them leaving just a few to cling to.

Something inside of me said jump.  Don’t think too much just jump.  Jumping requires trust, trust in yourself that you are capable.  Tick tok, time is running out.  You have to jump, or make a decision to stay safely where you are at.  Happiness sometimes comes in risk.  It comes by taking a chance.  Dreaming leads to achieving, if you are willing to take action.  Action requires trust in yourself.  Trust in yourself requires letting go of fear.  Letting of fear is the hardest part.

Who are you what do you love?  Can you answer that?  Who do you want to be?  What have you done to get there?  What are your passions and why?  I’m guessing you haven’t been asked that in a very long time.  We experience crisis mid-life because it hits us.  Somewhere along the way people stopped asking us these question, and we forgot the answers as a result.

I returned to the place where I asked these questions. Although painful at times, answering them makes us complete.  It ensures life never goes unlived, a moment never gets missed, and that at the end of the day we can indeed say, “Life didn’t go exactly as planned but I truly lived.”  You don’t get a do-over in life, and as a result you have to make this one count.

4 Responses to “A Life Unlived”

  1. Beth Katz July 6, 2012 at 9:37 pm #

    Well said Kim. I remember when I was starting my company I met (over the phone) with a coach and we did this visualization exercise. He had me in my house in a quiet room, he had me close my eyes and imagine the doorbell rang, I was to go to the door. When I answered the door, it was me in 20 years. He wanted me to ask myself what I did, accomplished, and achieved in 20 years. The answer I didn’t want to hear is workout and have lunch with my friends. It made me motivated to take on my company. Thanks for sharing Kim, I love your blogs!xxoo Beth!

    • The Modern Me July 7, 2012 at 9:52 pm #

      Awesome exercise and one I’ll have to think on. Get you thinking doesn’t it?

  2. The Modern Me July 12, 2012 at 2:21 pm #

    Agreed. History, despite painful to think about at times, Paves the way for creating a better man kind. It’s important not to forget some of the mistakes we’ve made. You can’t undo things, you can only move forward in a posit direction.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. “History, despite its wrenching pain, cannot be unlived, | Unbiased TRUTH - July 8, 2012

    […] A Life Unlived(themodernme.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

